Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga sued over Oregon Trail game

Thu 19 May 2011 3:35pm GMT / 11:35am EDT / 8:35am PDT
LegalSocial Network

Publisher demands stop to imminent Frontierville update

Social games giant Zynga is being sued by educational publisher Houghton Mifflin Harcourt over the use of the name Oregon Trail.

The suit alleges that a division of HMH, The Learning Co, approached Zynga about making a Facebook version of its 80s game Oregon Trail in 2008, but the company eventually teamed with Blue Fang Games and launched the title earlier this year.

But this hasn't stopped Zynga from developing Frontierville's Oregon Trail, due for release at the end of the week.

However, The Learning Co claims a trademark for the name Oregon Trail as it relates to games, and is demanding Zynga stops using the name and pays damages - although no amount is named in the court documents.

According to the Boston Business Journal the court documents state that "Zynga has a reputation in the gaming industry as a developer that disregards others' intellectual property rights", and cites previous articles from SF Weekly and Business Insider from 2010.

1 Comment

Rick Lopez
Illustrator, Graphic Designer

1,269 941 0.7
Well as stupid as this seems, Zynga is a comany thats always copying peoples intellectual property and keeping others from developing anything that can compete with them. I mean, comon.... they have been purchasing every other social games cmpany and eating them up like... like... errm... hotcakes.... besides they wanted to trademark "Ville". Even though they will most likely lose to a giant like Zynga, Im rooting for publisher Houghton Mifflin Harcour on this one. At least they have the balls to stand up against Zynga.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now