Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Report shows iOS narrowing market share gap on Android

Fri 15 Apr 2011 8:50am GMT / 4:50am EDT / 1:50am PDT
Hardware

Apple platform also creating most revenue thanks to App Store

Apple

Established in 1976, Apple is a multinational corporation (corporate headquarters based in California)...

apple.com

Millenial Media’s Mobile Mix report, published yesterday, has revealed that the iOS platform is making some progress in narrowing the gap in market share between it and Android, although Google's operating system is still far ahead.

48 per cent of all smartphones covered in the study were Android, compared to a 31 per cent share for Apple and 18 for RIM. Symbian and Windows phones accounted for 1 per cent each.

The figures were measured via the number of ad hits served on each platform - something which could tip the scales in Android's favour thanks to a higher density of free, add supported apps on the system.

In a reflection of that, the study also found that iOS devices account for 47 per cent of all generated revenue on smartphone, with Android trailing on 36 per cent. RIM machines account for just 7 per cent of revenues.

Earlier this year, Apple released the iPhone 4 onto US carrier Verizon, a market of up to seven million new customers after a period of exclusivity on the AT&T network.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now