Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Leading social game devs pulling out of MySpace

Thu 10 Mar 2011 4:07pm GMT / 11:07am EST / 8:07am PST

Zynga reportedly declines $100m deal to purchase News Corp network

Major social game developers have in recent months withdrawn a number of their titles from declining social network MySpace.

InsideSocialGames notes that RockYou has pulled all of its top titles from the News Corp-owned service – including Truth Box with its near-eight million users.

Disney-owned developer Playdom has closed two roleplaying games (each with more than 2 million users), meaning it is no longer the second biggest studio in the MySpace top 25. It still has five apps in the chart.

Zynga still operates seven of the top 25 MySpace games, but its Ville series remains noticeably absent following a recent deal with Facebook. So far though, only Rollercoaster Kingdom and Street Racing (also pulled from Facebook) have been removed.

Rumours emerged last week that Zynga had considered purchasing the beleaguered MySpace from NewsCorp, but backed away from the alleged deal when the Rupert Murdoch firm asked for Zynga shares rather than money.

Business Insider quotes sources as alleging that News Corp is asking around $100 million for the network, despite revenues having plummeted from $300 to 80 million over the last two years.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now