Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Disney games division sees $234m full-year loss

Fri 12 Nov 2010 8:28am GMT / 3:28am EST / 12:28am PST
BusinessFinance

Business trims losses on Club Penguin and self-published games

Disney's Interactive Media division, which includes the company's games business, recorded a $234 million (147.7m) loss for the financial year ended October 2, 2010, an improvement on the $395 million (245.9m) loss for the previous year

Revenues were $761 million (473.9m), up from the $712 million (443.4m) a year earlier.

The company benefited from improved costs on self-published games, higher subscription revenue on Club Penguin and increased subscribers to its mobile phone business in Japan.

Lower sales of videogame products were due to catalogue games rather than new releases with bundled accessories in the prior year.

Overall, Disney recorded a full-year profit of $3.9 billion (2.4bn), up 20 per cent from the previous year's $3.3 billion. Revenues were $38 billion (23.6bn), up 5 per cent from $36.1 billion.

2 Comments

Terence Gage Freelance writer

1,289 126 0.1
Crikey; that's a substantial loss. Hopefully the Interactive Media division won't be singled out next to the firm's overall profit. I expect Epic Mickey will do some good numbers for them, but I hope their games divisions is secure for the moment.

I still think it's a shame that PotC: Armada of the Damned was cancelled. It was looking pretty great.

Posted:4 years ago

#1

Kingman Cheng Illustrator and Animator

956 185 0.2
Well that's a huge shame.

Chin up though Epic Mickeys coming up.

Posted:4 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now