Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Angry Birds clocks up 2 million Android downloads

Tue 19 Oct 2010 7:26am GMT / 3:26am EDT / 12:26am PDT
Mobile

Rush of downloads topples GetJar servers as app reaches milestone in five days

Mobile game app Angry Birds has totalled over two million downloads on the Android platform in five days, according to developer Rovio.

The game, which sat at the top of the sales chart on Apple's App Store for some time, was released on the GetJar app service for Android last Friday, 15 October. Reportedly, a rush of 90,000 downloads within 'seconds' caused the GetJAr servers to crash under the strain and the app was moved to the Android Market.

Yesterday, the official twitter account for the Finnish developer announced that the game had surpassed 2 million downloads.

The game is available in paid for and free, ad-supported versions, it is currently unknown how the sales figures are split between the two SKUs.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now