Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

European Games Awards honour Climax, Quantic, Creative Assembly

Fri 17 Sep 2010 1:16pm GMT / 9:16am EDT / 6:16am PDT

And indie title Limbo is named game of the year at France-based ceremony

The results of the 2010 Milthon European Games Awards have been announced, with the majority share of gongs going to Quantic Dream's Heavy Rain and Playdead's XBLA title Limbo.

Danish-made Limbo was elected 2010's best game at the Paris Game Festival's awards show, but it also proved a successful for ceremony for UK development. Both Climax and The Creative Assembly walked home with trophies.

Quantic Dream's David Cage was specifically honoured by Frederic Mitterrand, French minister of Culture and Communication, who bestowed Heavy Rain with the 'Prix de la Création Française du Jeu Vidéo 2010.'

"It was a delight and an honour to preside over the Milthon European Awards. It was a superb event made even greater by the fantastic quality of the nominated and winning titles," offered Team 17's Martyn Brown, president of the 2010 jury.

The full list of winners is as follows:

  • Best Indie Game: Limbo/ Playdead Games (360)
  • Best Audio Design: Silent Hill: Shattered Memories/ Climax Studios (Nintendo Wii)
  • Best Mobile Game: iBlast Moki / Godzilab (iPhone/iPod)
  • Best Game Design: Heavy Rain/ Quantic Dream (PS3)
  • Best Visual Art: Limbo/ Playdead Games (360)
  • Best PC/Mac Game: Napoleon: Total War / The Creative Assembly
  • Best Console Game: Heavy Rain/ Quantic Dream (PS3)
  • Game of the Year: Limbo/ Playdead Games (360)

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now