Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Xbox 360 hits six million sales in Europe

Mon 22 Sep 2008 5:31pm GMT / 1:31pm EDT / 10:31am PDT
Hardware

Microsoft promises heavy investment in console following price reduction across the region

The Xbox 360 has sold six million units in Europe following a reduction in price for all three SKUs in the region.

"We’re very excited that more consumers in Europe are joining the ever-growing Xbox 360 community," commented Chris Lewis, VP of Microsoft's Xbox business in Europe.

"We’re now the best-value next-gen console on the market with an entry-level ERP of GBP 129.99, and consumers have clearly responded to that offering.

"We’re supporting this momentum by putting launch-level investment into a European advertising campaign, launching this week, which shows how Xbox 360 is changing the way consumers experience entertainment," he added.

Last Friday, Microsoft reduced the price of the Xbox 360 across Europe. The Arcade unit now retails for GBP 129.99, the Premium machine for GBP 169.99 and the Elite model for GBP 229.99.

As well as titles such as Fable 2 and Lips, Microsoft is also due to launch a new look online interface for the Xbox 360 later this year.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now