Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

World of Warcraft China boss steps down

Thu 25 Feb 2010 9:11am GMT / 4:11am EST / 1:11am PST
Emerging MarketsDevelopment

Latest blow to company as NetEase exec resigns

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Blizzard's World of Warcraft business in China has taken another blow this week, with project chief Li Riqiang resigning from NetEase, the developer's partner in the region.

The game has suffered from a shambolic launch in China, with local government imposing restrictions and red tape on the massively multiplayer game.

World of Warcraft and its expansion The Burning Crusade have been on an off-line since the game launched, with China's regulatory body the General Administration of Press and Publication objecting to content.

According to a report by JLM Pacific Epoch, no replacement has been named for Riqiang's role.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now