Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Warhammer Online has "five years" of content

Fri 09 May 2008 9:00am GMT / 5:00am EDT / 2:00am PDT
Online

Mythic's Josh Drescher explains how the new MMO has been designed from the ground up to accommodate expansions

Mythic Entertainment

Formed in October 1995 by Rob Denton and Mark Jacobs, Mythic is most well known for Dark Age of Camelot....

mythicentertainment....

Warhammer Online has been built to contain five years of content, according to EA Mythic's senior designer Josh Drescher.

During an interview with GamesIndustry.biz, Dresher talked about the challenges associated with developing the upcoming MMO Warhammer Online and revealed details of the game's planned longevity.

"All the under-the-hood numbers all actually scale through the next five years," he said.

"What you don't want is when you launch the game you've got 40 levels - and it takes however long it takes to get to level 40. You then launch an expansion and it now takes two weeks to get to level 40 because now we need everyone to spend six months to get from level 40 to 50," Drescher added.

"So you need to spec the game out in such a way that you actually have those progressions in mind for later - so you don't wind up trampling all over the earlier experiences every time you expand the game."

"We have actually five years' worth of numerology out in front of us in terms of all that," he explained.

The full GamesIndustry.biz interview with Josh Drescher will be available next week.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now