Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Ubisoft opens new China studio

Mon 17 Sep 2007 3:38pm GMT / 11:38am EDT / 8:38am PDT

Ubisoft has opened its second development studio in China, initially focusing on internal outsourcing with a view to taking on online development for PC, consoles and handhelds.

Ubisoft has opened its second development studio in China, initially focusing on internal outsourcing with a view to taking on online development for PC, consoles and handhelds.

The new studio in Chengdu will open with 10 team members and a goal of expanding to 200 over the year. Richard Tsao, senior producer at Ubisoft's Shanghai studio will take on the role of managing director.

"The success of our studio in Shanghai has encouraged us to extend our growth in China," said Christine Burgess-QuĂmard, executive director, Worldwide Studios at Ubisoft.

"We are convinced that Chengdu offers the perfect environment for our expansion, offering a great number of highly educated and talented people."

Chengdu is said to be one of the most technologically developed cities in Western China, with some 35,000 software graduates per year.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now