Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Turbine still focused on yearly expansions

Thu 04 Dec 2008 4:35pm GMT / 11:35am EST / 8:35am PST
Development

"Serial entertainment" strategy driven by audience need, explains executive producer Jeffery Steefel

Jeffrey Steefel, executive producer for Lord of the Rings online, has said the company's strategy is still focused on yearly expansions to its MMO.

Speaking to Eurogamer, Steelfel explained that despite neither of the developer's main rivals, Blizzard or Mythic, adopting a similar strategy, it felt it still needed to.

"We have been driving our content strategy based on our game and our audience," he said. "What other folks do is driven by their needs."

"The bottom line is that we believe we need to deliver ongoing, quality and meaningful content to our subscribers regularly. This is serial entertainment in a sense, and we all expect it to continue to grow and evolve."

"So the Book updates will continue, and frequent expansions as well..."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now