Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Tony Hawk RIDE fails to enter UK top 40

Mon 07 Dec 2009 10:23am GMT / 5:23am EST / 2:23am PST
Retail

Poor reviews are due to "snarky critics" says pro skateboarder

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

Activision's reboot of the Tony Hawk franchise has failed to enter the top 40 All-Formats chart in the UK.

Tony Hawk: RIDE was developed by start-up Robomodo the first time the series has not been developed alongside internal team Neversoft and ships with a skateboard peripheral for around GBP 99.

Some online retailers such as Play.com are listing the game as 'sold out', suggesting only a limited amount of stock was available to retailers.

As well as being criticised for its high price, reviews in the specialist press have not been pretty, with GameSpot, Eurogamer, Giant Bomb and Wired all laying into the game and helping to tarnish it with a Metacritic rating of 48/100.

Tony Hawk has said that he's proud of the game and its controller, despite the poor reception.

"Most snarky critics had their minds set before ever seeing/playing the game. I'm proud of what we created; it's innovative, responsive and fun," he wrote on Twitter.

Despite missing the All Formats charts, the game entered the Xbox 360 chart at 32, and fared a little better on PlayStation 3 at 29. The game did not make the Wii charts, according to data from GfK Chart-Track.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now