Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

THQ acquires Universomo

Thu 10 May 2007 8:19am GMT / 4:19am EDT / 1:19am PDT

PC and console game publisher THQ has acquired Finnish mobile game developer Universomo.

PC and console game publisher THQ has acquired Finnish mobile game developer Universomo.

Although it already owns a wireless subsidiary THQ is keen to increase its cross-platform mobile development capacity. Universomo boasts its own proprietary game development environment and automated porting solution - suitable for developing and porting games across all mobile platforms.

Executive vice president of worldwide publishing Kelly Flock said cross-platform mobile development was key to THQ's growth strategy.

"The combination of Universomo's award-winning creative development skills and their proven porting solution will enable new technology efficiencies for THQ Wireless, giving us the scalability to focus on building both our cornerstone brands and new, owned properties across Europe, Asia and North America," Flock said.

Universomo managing director Markku Hakkala said that THQ's size and reach and the ease of integrating his own company's technology and development capacity put it "on track to take full advantage of continued market growth opportunities worldwide".

Universomo's recent work includes the mobile adaptation of 300 and LEGO Star Wars I & II, with titles including WWE and Stuntman: Ignition planned among its first THQ Wireless offerings.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now