Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Third parties dominate WiiWare best-sellers

Mon 23 Feb 2009 8:25am GMT / 3:25am EST / 12:25am PST
OnlinePublishing

Nintendo pledges more marketing support for digital distribution service

Nintendo has revealed that third-party publishers and developers are taking full advantage of WiiWare, with only two of the top twenty games on the digital distribution service from Nintendo itself.

Speaking during the DICE Summit in Las Vegas, senior director of product development Tom Prata also said that Nintendo would increase its marketing support for the service this year, to educate consumers to the possibilities of the platform.

"90 per cent of the games made for WiiWare are made my outside companies," said Prata, reports Gamasutra. "Only two of the top 20 games are made by Nintendo."

"How many consumers can you reach? Not everybody has connected [their Wii] to the internet, and not everybody who is connected has downloaded games," he added. "I think there’s more that Nintendo can do for support. This year Nintendo will increase resources for development and support."

Prata also said the company "had not been deaf to the complaints" about storage on the Wii, and reiterated that Nintendo is working on a solution to improve storage on the console.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now