Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Square Enix revamps Europe operation

Tue 07 Jul 2009 12:12pm GMT / 8:12am EDT / 5:12am PDT
Publishing

New regional entity to look after all publishing for Square and Eidos products; some job losses in US and Europe due to duplication, says company

Square Enix is to form a new entity, called Square Enix Europe, which will handle all publishing for Square Enix and Eidos products moving forwards, with the aim of creating "one efficient and powerful structure for game publishing."

Square Enix Europe - a working name for the time being - will be headed up by current Eidos CEO Phil Rogers, will also combine the companies' sales and marketing offices - a move which will result in a certain number of job losses due to role duplication, although GamesIndustry.biz understands that no decisions on precise numbers have yet been made.

"Unfortunately we are expecting some jobs to be impacted directly by this in both Europe and North America," read a statement from the company. "We are hoping to minimise this wherever possible and offer support and advice to any employees directly affected."

Meanwhile in the US all sales, marketing and distribution responsibilities will be transferred from Eidos Inc to the region's Square Enix office, headed up by John Yamamoto.

The Eidos name, while no longer associated with publishing, will continue to live on through the various development studios around the world, which will all now report into Square Enix Europe.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now