Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony removes in-game advert following load-time increase

Tue 04 Aug 2009 9:33am GMT / 5:33am EDT / 2:33am PDT
GamesPublishing

WipEout HD ad removed following affected gameplay; Sony investigating situation

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony has told Eurogamer that the in-game advert causing an increase WipEout HD load-times has been binned.

"The ad has been removed from WipEout HD and we are investigating the situation to ensure that any in-game advertising does not affect gameplay," said a spokesperson for the platform holder.

Double Fusion announced a deal with Sony yesterday to produce "dynamic" in-game adverts for a "handful" of titles, of which WipEout HD is the first.

The first examples of the video ads, however, prolonged loading times before races, as a user-made video posted on YouTube demonstrates.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now