Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony pulls firmware 2.40 update

Wed 02 Jul 2008 9:04pm GMT / 5:04pm EDT / 2:04pm PDT
Publishing

Following complaints on website forums, SCEA has apparently removed the recent update from its servers

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony has removed the latest PlayStation 3 firmware update from its servers on the day of its release.

Earlier today, the company released the update that brought a Trophy system and in-game XMB access, among other changes.

After some users on the PlayStation forums and elsewhere reported having issues, SCEA indicated that it would be looking into the situation.

SCEA has not yet issued an official statement, but according to subsequent forum posts, users trying to update have been told that they already have the latest firmware - suggesting that firmware 2.40 has been pulled.

Sony has not yet responded to requests for comment at the time of publication. We'll update this story if the company makes an official announcement.

Update: SCEA has issued a statement indicating that they are are aware of a limited number of consumers experiencing an issue with installing firmware 2.40.

"In order to further assess the issue, we have temporarily taken the firmware offline for further testing. We are working diligently to isolate the problem for those few consumers and to identify a solution before we put the firmware back up," the statement read.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now