Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

SingStar sales reach 12 million units

Mon 28 Apr 2008 7:25am GMT / 3:25am EDT / 12:25am PDT
Games

The karaoke game saw continued success over the financial year as it introduces a store and social networking elements

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

The SingStar franchise, Sony's karaoke game, has sold 12 million units to date in PAL regions - with five million sold during the financial year spanning April 2007 - March 2008.

The series, which is available for the PlayStation 2 and PlayStation 3, saw its online store, SingStore, sell one million tracks across the PAL region in the first four months of trading. My SingStar Online, the title's social network, also attracted 140,000 registered users who shared over 20,000 videos of their performances.

"SingStar's success is built upon simple and entertaining game play. Historically we have added new music tracks to keep the experience fresh but the arrival of PS3 has allowed us to think differently," explained Paulina Bozek, executive producer of SingStar.

"We can now take advantage of the next-generation features to take the next step forward in the SingStar experience."

"The launch of SingStore and My SingStar Online is the realisation of this and the experience is now more user-focused, personalised and interactive," she added.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now