Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

SCEA: No UMD conversion programme for PSPgo

Fri 25 Sep 2009 7:50am GMT / 3:50am EDT / 12:50am PDT
HardwarePublishing

Due to legal and technical reasons, game transfers will not be possible

Sony America has said that it will not be possible for people to exchange their UMDs for digital versions of the games they already own.

"We were evaluating a UMD conversion programme, but due to legal and technical reasons we will not be offering the programme at this time," a spokesman has told Kotaku, as reported by Eurogamer.

The idea would have been to hand in your UMD copy of, say, Lumines, and receive a digital copy of the same game in return.

In Europe, at least, Sony is offering people who upgrade to PSPgo the choice of three free digital downloads, providing they own at least one UMD game.

There are 17 titles to choose from, including Echochrome, LocoRoco, Patapon, Resistance: Retribution and WipEout Pure. The deal, which will run between October 1 and March 31 2010, was announced at TGS yesterday.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now