Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

PSP surpasses 10m sales in Japan

Wed 27 Aug 2008 8:15am GMT / 4:15am EDT / 1:15am PDT
Retail

Top five selling games also named, revealing dominance of Monster Hunter titles

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony's PlayStation Portable has sold over ten million units in Japan, in the period between December 12, 2004 and August 24,2008, according to Famitsu and reported by Kotaku.

The total software sales for the PSP was also revealed with the Monster Hunter franchise displaying its dominance on the handheld. Monster Hunter 2nd G topped the list at 2,396,642 copies sold, followed by Monster Hunter 2nd at 1,706,387 units.

Crisis Core - Final Fantasy VII came next at 790,705 units sold, along with Monster Hunter Portable at 668,964 and Phantasy Star Portable with 545,242 units sold.

The top five PSP titles list follows:

  • 1. Monster Hunter Portable 2nd G (Capcom)
  • 2. Monster Hunter Portable 2nd (Capcom)
  • 3. Crisis Core - Final Fantasy VII (Square Enix)
  • 4. Monster Hunter Portable (Capcom)
  • 5. Phantasy Star Portable (SEGA)

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now