Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

PS3 Trophies mandatory from January

Fri 21 Nov 2008 8:22am GMT / 3:22am EST / 12:22am PST
Hardware

All titles set to be released on the platform will require the awards system from launch

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony has confirmed that it is to make it a mandatory requirement for all games that appear on the PlayStation 3 to support the platform's Trophy system.

Trophies were added to the PS3 back in July with the console's 2.40 software update and were touted as the platform's answer to the Xbox 360's achievements system.

However, developers and publishers have only ever offered sporadic support to the Trophies system often adding them in long after a game's initial release, the new rules will see it a mandatory requirement for all games from launch, starting January 2009.

"Yes from Jan 09 all games must have Trophies," Sony told VideoGamer.com.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now