Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

PS3 to adopt YouTube functionality

Mon 19 May 2008 7:32am GMT / 3:32am EDT / 12:32am PDT
Developer Tools

Upcoming and past PS3 games will allow gamers to capture and upload videos from their games

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony has confirmed that developers can now integrate YouTube functionality in upcoming or existing PlayStation 3 games.

YouTube's new development tools will enable gamers to capture and upload footage recorded while playing games, according to an announcement made on its blog API.

"This YouTube upload functionality can be incorporated not only into new PS3 game titles, but also existing PS3 titles that have the ability to receive network updates," explained a YouTube statement.

"Gamers will now be able to upload their in-game video captures to YouTube. We're excited at the opportunity this presents and look forward to more and more games to be enhanced with YouTube," the statement added.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now