Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

PS3 motion controller to be called Arc

Tue 19 Jan 2010 10:46am GMT / 5:46am EST / 2:46am PST
HardwareRumour

Rumours suggest Sony has settled on name for new peripheral

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony's PlayStation 3 motion controller will be called Arc, according to rumours currently doing the rounds in the games industry.

As reported by VG247, Arc is likely to be the final name given to the hardware, first unveiled at E3 last year, and set to rival Microsoft's Project Natal when released.

Microsoft has benefited from naming its controller from the off, with the Project Natal brand already well established in the industry. Other names linked to Sony's device were Gem and Sphere.

Sony told GamesIndustry.biz this morning that it would not comment on the rumour.

All major publishers have publicly pledged support for Microsoft's Natal hardware, with Robbie Bach estimating that 80 per cent of publishers are on board.

All of Sony's internal studios are currently working on software for Arc, but the peripheral has had a lower profile.

Sony said the motion controller will launch in spring this year, but with the name only decided internally, and very little in the way of demo software shown publicly, a later release window is looking more realistic.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now