Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Polish tech firm to acquire CD Projekt

Fri 02 Oct 2009 7:34am GMT / 3:34am EDT / 12:34am PDT
BusinessDevelopment

The Witcher and Good Old Games studio to go public following acquisition, according to a new report

The Witcher developer CD Projekt is to be acquired by Polish PC company Optimus.

That's according to a report by Polygamia, which claims the move is intended to transform the privately-owned company into a publicly traded business on the Warsaw Stock Exchange.

The acquisition will be made with stock only, with the owners of CD Projekt becoming the primary shareholders. An official announcement is expected shortly.

As well as developing acclaimed single-player RPG The Witcher, CD Projekt also runs Good Old Games, the online digital distribution service focused on classic PC titles, alongside a local physical distribution business for Eastern Europe.

As well as an office in Warsaw, Poland, CD Projekt has a studio in Prague, Czech Republic.

GamesIndustry.biz has contacted CD Projekt for confirmation.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now