Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

PlayStation 3 sells 1 million units in UK

Wed 13 Feb 2008 12:01pm GMT / 7:01am EST / 4:01am PST

Sony has confirmed to GamesIndustry.biz that the PlayStation 3 has sold over one million units in the UK.

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony has confirmed to GamesIndustry.biz that the PlayStation 3 has sold over one million units in the UK.

The console was released in the UK on March 23 last year, meaning it has reached the milestone quicker than the PlayStation 2, which took 50 weeks to sell one million units.

Sony announced back in June 2007 that sales had hit the one million mark across the whole of Europe in just nine and a half weeks.

With sales of the most expensive home console reaching important milestones for Sony, publishers are becoming more confident in the format.

Last week, Electronic Arts stated that it expects the PS3 to outsell the Xbox 360 this year, clocking up between 5 and 6 million units in Europe and up to another 5.5 million units in North America.

Nintendo's Wii reached the one million mark in the UK within 38 weeks on sale, making it the fastest-selling home console in the region.

Microsoft's Xbox 360 sold one million units within 60 weeks.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now