Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

No access to Wii Speak Channel without peripheral

Thu 13 Nov 2008 12:52pm GMT / 7:52am EST / 4:52am PST
Hardware

One-time activation code will also stop any second hand sales

Nintendo has confirmed to GamesIndustry.biz that only those that first purchase Wii Speak will be able to use the peripheral and the associated Wii Speak Channel.

The units comes with a one-time activation code that will not be replaced, effectively killing any second hand sales of the peripheral.

Only those with Wii Speak will be able to access the Wii Speak Channel, which does not function without a Wii Speak unit.

Wii Speak goes on sale in the UK on December 5 and is priced at GBP 25.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now