Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo quiet on new DS rumours

Wed 27 Aug 2008 9:45am GMT / 5:45am EDT / 2:45am PDT
Hardware

DS with two touch screens "rumour and speculation" says company

Nintendo has told GamesIndustry.biz that it will not comment on new rumours of a redesigned DS handheld, branding talk "rumour and speculation".

US blog Kotaku has suggested that the company will be issuing a new DS next year, featuring two touch-sensitive screens.

According to the story, any official word on such a device would not be announced by Nintendo until after the Christmas sales period.

Sales of the handheld in Japan during the financial quarter ended June 30 have dropped, but the system is still selling well in Europe and the US.

1 Comment

Jim Webb
Executive Editor/Community Director

2,232 2,161 1.0
Nintendo has no financial or creative reason to release a new handheld yet. Especially considering they continue to work on the firmware and functionality and have massive 3rd party support on the way.

Kotaku may want to stick to blogging and not prognosticating.

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now