Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Mythic drops EA from its name

Fri 11 Jul 2008 9:57am GMT / 5:57am EDT / 2:57am PDT
Online

Warhammer Online developer will revert back to Mythic Entertainment

Mythic Entertainment

Formed in October 1995 by Rob Denton and Mark Jacobs, Mythic is most well known for Dark Age of Camelot....

mythicentertainment....

EA Mythic boss Mark Jacobs has told MMORPG.com that the Warhammer Online developer is dropping the EA from its name, and becoming Mythic Entertainment once more.

That's what the company was called before EA bought it, and the name under which it released its previous MMO, Dark Age of Camelot.

Jacobs explained that the name change didn't indicate any change in the company's relationship with EA, beyond the more open attitude EA has recently taken to the development studios it owns.

"I've always been a believer of separate branding," said Jacobs. "I think that this is a wonderful example of how things at EA are changing. Both John [Riccitiello] and Frank [Gibeau] have spoken multiple times about city states, more freedom, that sort of thing, and I think this is an obvious example."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now