Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Monster Hunter helps Capcom sales climb

Wed 30 Jul 2008 1:19pm GMT / 9:19am EDT / 6:19am PDT
Finance

Sales up 15 per cent, operating income up 44 per cent

Net sales at Resident Evil publisher Capcom have risen 14.5 per cent for the quarter ended June 30, to JPY 16.35 billion (USD 1.07bn).

Operating income increased to JPY 2.97 billion (USD 27.4m), or 43.5 per cent, and net income was up to JPY 4.04 billion (USD 37.3m), or 60.1 per cent.

Capcom described the sales of Monster Hunter Freedom 2G as "skyrocketing" with sales over 2.4 million on Sony's PSP, leading the company's videogame business during the quarter.

In a conference call following the results, Capcom said that it expects to sell 2.3 million units of the forthcoming Resident Evil 5, 1.7 million copies of Street Fighter IV, 1.5 million units of Bionic Commando and half a million copies of Dead Rising: Chop Till You Drop.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now