Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Kotick: Slowing economy may lead to console price cuts

Wed 30 Apr 2008 11:16pm GMT / 7:16pm EDT / 4:16pm PDT
Hardware

Activision's CEO is also concerned with an EA sports monopoly if Take-Two is acquired

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

The slowing US economy will pressure makers of video game consoles to lower their prices said Activision CEO Bobby Kotick.

"With the rising costs of fuel and food and housing, it is more difficult to go out and buy a USD 399 console, and I think it's going to put pressure on the console manufacturers to reduce their prices," Kotick told Reuters.

Kotick also expressed his concern with Electronic Arts' USD 2 billion takeover bid for Take-Two Interactive, suggesting that it will give EA too much power in the sports genre.

"That's concerning, sure. When you think about one company in control of the sports category, with no competition from anybody else, that could be a challenge," he said.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now