Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Konami reaches settlement in DDR lawsuit

Fri 20 Oct 2006 11:06am GMT / 7:06am EDT / 4:06am PDT

Konami has reached a settlement in the lawsuit concerning Dance Dance Revolution and In the Groove, the dancing game from developer Roxor.

Konami has reached a settlement in the lawsuit concerning Dance Dance Revolution and In the Groove, the dancing game from developer Roxor.

The publisher filed suit against Roxor back in May, alleging that patent and trademark rights relating to the DDR arcade game had been infringed.

The suit also alleged unfair competition, and objected to the fact that ITG had been designed to be adaptable for DDR arcade cabinets - and that stickers featuring Roxor's logo were being placed over Konami's.

But the matter has now been settled with Konami aquiring the intellectual property rights to In the Groove. Roxor has pledged to "respect Konami's intellectual property rights" in future.

Konami has yet to announce its plans for the ITG franchise, which was brought to arcades by Guitar Hero publisher RedOctane.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now