Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

GTA IV sets UK day one records

Wed 30 Apr 2008 4:30pm GMT / 12:30pm EDT / 9:30am PDT
Games

Chart-Track is reporting preliminary sales data for GTA IV showing that the title has eclipsed all prior records

Chart-Track has made available UK sales data for GTA IV's launch based upon actual EPoS data and retailer estimates.

According to Chart-Track estimates, GTA IV first day sales were 609,000 units - eclipsing the record of 501,000 units set by GTA: San Andreas in 2004.

GTA IV also set a record for first day sales Xbox 360 software, with 335,000 units. The prior record, set last September by Halo 3, was 266,000 units.

GTA IV easily eclipsed the first day PS3 sales record previously held by Gran Turismo 5: Prologue, which had day one sales of 80,000 last month. The PS3 version of GTA IV sold 274,000 units in the UK on day one.

These initial figures may change once Chart-Track has analysed the data in its entirety on May 6 following the UK Bank holiday.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now