Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

GTA IV: Most expensive game ever developed?

Wed 30 Apr 2008 11:25pm GMT / 7:25pm EDT / 4:25pm PDT
Development

Producer estimates price tag of $100 million and notes criticism comes mostly from people who haven't played the game

GTA IV producer Leslie Benzies has estimated that the game cost Rockstar approximately USD 100 million to create.

In an interview with the Times Online, Benzies also said that more than 1000 people worked on the title for a period of over a three and a half years.

If the figure is correct, GTA IV's development costs would make it the most expensive game ever made - topping the USD 70 million+ development budget for Sega's Shenmue for the Dreamcast.

GTA IV, however, has already sold over 600,000 copies on the first day in the UK alone and analysts have predicted that the game could gross more than USD 400 million in its first week.

Benzies also noted that much of the beating Rockstar has taken over the past three years - by the government and the press - comes from people who haven't played the game.

Why do people object to a game they haven't even played?

"You kill prostitutes," he told the Times Online. "That's usually the objection."

"There is a big fear factor here. It's the coming of the railways. It's Elvis shaking his hips. It's cars going over 25 miles an hour and making people explode."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now