Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Gosen to lead 360 mass market push in Europe

Thu 20 Mar 2008 11:34am GMT / 7:34am EDT / 4:34am PDT

Microsoft has announced that former Nintendo and i-play exec David Gosen has joined the company as vice president of strategic marketing in Europe.

Microsoft has announced that former Nintendo and I-play exec David Gosen has joined the company as vice president of strategic marketing in Europe.

Following the recent hardware price drop, Gosen will help drive the manufacturer's determined push to reach the mass-market consumer in the region.

"I'm very excited to be part of Microsoft IEB at this key stage in the gaming industry," offered Gosen. "Xbox 360 is now a mass-market gaming console, and with the recent ERP reduction we‚re poised to open the market for Xbox 360 even wider.

"The content portfolio goes from strength to strength and is providing compelling experiences for a broader audience, and the titles we have coming up are massively appealing," he added.

As well as CEO of I-play and MD of Nintendo Europe, he has also held senior positions at B Sky B, Pepsico and Coca-Cola & Schweppes Beverages.

"We're very happy to welcome David to the Microsoft IEB leadership team," said Chris Lewis, VP of Xbox 360 in Europe.

"We recently re-aligned to combine laser-sharp focus with strong industry and consumer marketing experience.

"With David leading strategic marketing, Phil Spencer leading MGS in Europe, and Richard Teversham as business and strategy director, we are in a great position to leverage Xbox 360's European success to further widen the market for Xbox as a mass-market proposition."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now