Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Google refuses to comment on Valve acquisition rumour

Wed 17 Sep 2008 1:31pm GMT / 9:31am EDT / 6:31am PDT
Development

Spokesperson labels talk as "rumour and speculation"

Internet giant Google has said that reports it is to acquire Valve are just "rumour and speculation".

A report by The Inquirer has suggested Google will announce an acquisition of the Half-Life developer imminently.

Central to the deal would be the Steam business, the market leading online distribution service for games on PC.

Yesterday, Google used its session at Austin GDC to reveal plans for games developers to incorporate games into the firms online virtual world Lively.

GamesIndustry.biz has contacted Valve for comment.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now