Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Funcom reveals record Age of Conan pre-orders

Mon 19 May 2008 10:40am GMT / 6:40am EDT / 3:40am PDT

700,000 copies of the game shipped to stores due to strong demand

Funcom has revealed a record breaking number of pre-orders for its upcoming MMO Age of Conan.

Pre-orders of the MMO's collector's edition have been strong enough to cause the title to completely sell out, despite a second print run to keep up with demand, selling in total around 111,000 units.

The demand has been so high that 700,000 copies of the game will be shipped to retailers for day one sales, and Funcom has announced it will be unable to fulfill all pre-orders in some markets due to current server limitations.

"Everyone in Funcom is delighted and humbled with the historical pre-order numbers for Age of Conan," said Morten Larssen, Funcom's VP of Sales & Marketing.

"If the information we have is correct, they represent the highest pre-order number for any global launch of an original PC game, ever, including the original World of Warcraft launch."

More information about the game can be found on our sister site, Eurogamer.net, which is featuring an Age of Conan Week on its MMO channel.

1 Comment

Jake Drobowiecki
Animation/Cinematic/Programming Producer

2 0 0.0
Congrats to the guys and gals at Funcom and Eidos. Well done!

Posted:6 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now