Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Fils-Aime: New Super Mario Bros Wii will outsell MW2

Mon 09 Nov 2009 9:28am GMT / 4:28am EST / 1:28am PST
PeoplePublishing

Nintendo US president says sales will beat a single format over holiday season

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

Nintendo of America president Reggie Fils-Aime believes that New Super Mario Bros. Wii will outsell either the PlayStation 3 or Xbox 360 version of Modern Warfare 2.

Asked by GTTV whether Mario's latest could best Infinity Ward's FPS, Fils-Aime at first said, "Well, Modern Warfare 2's on two platforms, right?" When host Geoff Keighley asked whether it would beat one of the two console SKUs, he replied, "So, absolutely. I say unequivocally."

"On one particular platform? I do believe so."

"Now, you've got to give me the entire holiday selling season, right, so let's take it all the way through the January NPD data," he clarified. "Yes. I'll take that... I'll put that stake in the ground."

Fils-Aime isn't taking the challenge lightly, nor does he thinks Modern Warfare 2 will be anything less than excellent. "Sure it's going to be close," he said. "Modern Warfare's a great title. As a gamer, I look forward to it."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now