Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA Sports launches Visa card

Thu 03 Dec 2009 2:25pm GMT / 9:25am EST / 6:25am PST
Business

Prepaid debit card will earn users points to spend on EA games

EA Sports has launched its own prepaid debit card, with users able to redeem points on EA-branded software.

Compatible at over 700 online retailers and 26,000 High Street stores in the US, users can earn back a percentage of every purchase, to be used on games at EA's online reward store.

"The EA Sports DebitSmart Visa Prepaid Card is a great opportunity for us to offer our community of loyal customers a new way to purchase and save on their favourite EA Sports game titles," commented Todd Sitrin, VP of global marketing at EA SPORTS.

"Consumers use the card while making their everyday purchases and are rewarded with EA Sports videogames. This program is a perfect marriage of encouraging responsible spending while providing a unique reward program."

Electronic Arts isn't the first game company to offer branded debit cars, both Sony and Capcom have team with Visa to offer rewards for consumer purchases.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now