Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA picks up Tomb Raider mobile rights

Mon 15 Sep 2008 7:24am GMT / 3:24am EDT / 12:24am PDT
Publishing

Publisher secures exclusive licensing rights, along with three other Eidos properties

EA has announced an agreement with Eidos Interactive for the mobile distribution and licensing rights to Tomb Raider Underworld as well as other key properties.

Under the agreement, EA secures the exclusive mobile rights to the latest Lara Croft title, Just Cause 2, California Games X and Minesweeper. The publisher will be able to distribute the titles on any mobile device and has the option to take up mobile versions of other Eidos properties over the next three years.

"Eidos has a valuable portfolio of intellectual property including the world famous Tomb Raider games," said Javier Ferreira, VP of European Publishing, EA Mobile. "This deal gives EA Mobile immediate access to not one but four high profile titles, which will appeal to a broad audience on mobile platforms."

Eidos' online publishing director, Simon Protheroe, commented: "EA Mobile is the world leader for mobile publishing, with excellent carrier and OEM relationships in all corners of the globe."

"We have had great success with Eidos products on mobile platforms to date and this strategic relationship will allow us to focus on making quality mobile titles and utilising the presence and scale that EA Mobile has in the marketplace."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now