Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Codemasters acquires Swordfish Studios

Fri 14 Nov 2008 10:12am GMT / 5:12am EST / 2:12am PST
Development

50 Cent developer picked up by UK's racing specialist

Codemasters

Taken from MobyGames.com:

Codemasters develops and publishes video games for Sony, Nintendo and Microsoft...

codemasters.com

Codemasters has acquired Birmingham-based developer Swordfish Studios.

The new studio will be lead by founder of Swordfish, Trevor Williams, and will create new content for Codemasters using the firm's EGO Engine.

"We are committed to growing our studio operations across multiple facilities and increasing the internal capability of Codemasters’ creative resource," said Gavin Cheshire, VP of Codemasters Studios.

"There is a strong heritage and a compatible skill set, which has enabled us to fast track growth plans and allows for ease of management. Codemasters has ramped up as a UK games development powerhouse with a scalable support infrastructure that allows for rapid deployment of the highly versatile EGO Engine."

Swordfish's Manchester studio was acquired earlier in the week by Monumental Games.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now