Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

CES: Ubisoft titles to support amBX

Mon 07 Jan 2008 5:00pm GMT / 12:00pm EST / 9:00am PST

amBX

amBX is a software company that is revolutionising lighting and digital entertainment markets by taking...

ambx.com

Ubisoft has confirmed today at CES in Las Vegas that it will include Philip's amBX tech in some of its major upcoming titles.

amBX allows developers to include "surround sense" elements in games through various peripherals, including light, colour, sound, rumble and air flow through enabled devices like fans and LED-powered lights.

The tech is being shown at CES working on both Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway and Far Cry 2, which were recently delayed by Ubisoft until the next fiscal year beginning April 2008.

"Working with one of the world's largest publishers on two of the most successful gaming franchises of all time is an amazing opportunity for our amBX technology to really shine in front of a worldwide audience," said amBX COO Jo Cooke.

"Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway and Far Cry 2 are titles that will showcase just how powerful and in your face amBX effects can be in a war game. This is just the start of the alliance between amBX and Ubisoft and the level of our comarketing with Ubisoft will underline our dedication to bringing all-new ambient effects to world class games."

amBX only works with PC titles at the moment, but Philips assures us that console announcements are on the way soon - along with other publisher announcements related to the technology which Philips is curently keeping under wraps.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now