Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

CD Projekt: Acquisition "means more money for future development"

Fri 02 Oct 2009 12:58pm GMT / 8:58am EDT / 5:58am PDT
FinanceDevelopment

Polish developer and distributor confirms acquisition intent and prepares to float on Warsaw Stock Exchange

The Witcher developer and GOG.com owner CD Projekt has confirmed to GamesIndustry.biz that it has signed a letter of intent to be acquired by Polish tech firm Optimus.

The deal, if approved, will allow the company to float on the local Warsaw Stock Exchange after the two companies effectively swap shares in each other's business.

"In short this is kind of share swap between Polish stock company Optimus SA and CD Projekt Investment, which is the holding company owner of CDP Publishing, CDP Red, GOG.com, Metro and Porting House," confirmed Karol Zajaczkowski, spokesperson for CD Projekt.

"In the final effect of that swap shareholders of CDP Investment will be the owners of Optimus SA. Optimus is a stock market company so in fact CDP will go public and have access to all stock instruments.

"Finally this means money for future development of the whole company. Basically this is very good information for CDP," added Zajackowski.

As well as developing acclaimed RPG The Witcher, CD Projekt also has a distribution business and publishing division in Eastern Europe.

An official press release from both company's is expected later today.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now