Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

BAFTA winner to headline Science Festival

Fri 09 Apr 2010 10:37am GMT / 6:37am EDT / 3:37am PDT
EducationEvents

Dare to be Digital winners on show as two-day workshops for youngsters planned

Double BAFTA-winning student game SHRuNK! is to be the highlight of Abertay University's presence at the Edinburgh Science Festival next week.

The game won the Best New Game award at this year's BAFTA Scotland New Talent Awards, while student team The Butterflyers won the BAFTA Ones to Watch Award in association with Dare to be Digital.

SHRuNK! was one of 14 games developed during last year's Dare to be Digital competition, which was organised and run by Abertay University. The three winning games from the competition were also the only nominees for the BAFTA Ones to Watch award.

All 14 games will be available for the public to play at the Edinburgh Science Festival, due be held this weekend at the St James Centre shopping mall.

Abertay University will also be running two-day videogame creation workshops on April 12-13 and April 14-15, open to any participant between the ages of 12 and 16.

"This is a great opportunity for anyone who missed the Dare ProtoPlay showcase at last year’s Edinburgh Festival Fringe to come and try these fabulous games – especially the awesome BAFTA winner and nominees," said Elaine Russell, project manager for Dare to be Digital.

"In addition, budding games designers will have a great opportunity to test their skills in one of our two-day workshops. For anyone dreaming of a career in games development, this Video Game Studio - based on our successful Dare mentoring model - is the one for you," she added.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now