Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Asda: 600,000 Modern Warfare 2 pre-orders in UK

Mon 09 Nov 2009 10:17am GMT / 5:17am EST / 2:17am PST
RetailPublishing

Update: As rival Sainsbury's slashes price of new release to £26 in UK

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

Supermarket Asda has said that over 600,000 consumers have pre-ordered Activision's Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 in the UK.

The game goes on sale from 00:01am tomorrow morning in the company's 24 hour stores, and at the time of writing the company is selling the game at GBP 44.99, although it admitted this could change in time for release.

"In terms of pricing, well that remains anybodies guess but come Monday’s papers we’ll all know," wrote Duncan Cross, games buyer, on the company blog.

However, rival supermarket chain Sainsbury's has this morning confirmed that it will be selling the highly-anticipated release for GBP 26, making a mockery of the suggested RRP of GBP 54.99.

The move is likely to spark a price war across the UK, as supermarkets follow the lead set by FIFA 10 last month and begin selling the game at a massive reduction and below cost price.

Update: Tesco is selling the game for GBP 25 when sold with another chart title, while advertising indicates Asda will sell the game for GBP 32, although representatives have told GamesIndustry.biz that the retailer will not confirm a price until midnight tonight.

2 Comments

robert troughton
Managing Director

219 93 0.4

Posted:4 years ago

#1

robert troughton
Managing Director

219 93 0.4

Posted:4 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now