Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

App Store hits 3 billion downloads

Tue 05 Jan 2010 2:23pm GMT / 9:23am EST / 6:23am PST
Mobile

Landmark figure reached in less than 18 months

Apple

Established in 1976, Apple is a multinational corporation (corporate headquarters based in California)...

apple.com

More than three billion apps have now been downloaded from the App Store, according to new figures from Apple.

The massive numbers achieved since the store's launch just under 18 months ago will be tough for rivals to catch up with, said Apple's CEO Steve Jobs.

"Three billion applications downloaded in less than 18 months - this is like nothing we've ever seen before," said Jobs. "The revolutionary App Store offers iPhone and iPod touch users an experience unlike anything else available on other mobile devices, and we see no signs of the competition catching up anytime soon."

The store reached the two billion downloads mark in September last year, and in November the number of apps available had hit 100,000.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now