Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Activision chose to remove MW2 airport level for Russia

Tue 17 Nov 2009 12:03pm GMT / 7:03am EST / 4:03am PST
Publishing

Publisher denies game has been recalled; was advised to block terrorist level

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Activision has confirmed the removal of the controversial airport scene from the Russian version of Modern Warfare 2, and said the move was its own decision.

"Other countries have formal ratings boards that we regularly work with. However, Russia does not have a formal ratings entity. As a result, we chose to block the scene after seeking the advice of local counsel," the company told Eurogamer in a statement. Modern Warfare 2 is currently only available on PC in the country.

Activision was moving to clear up reports that the game had been banned or censored by the Russian government. There are claims that the console versions of the game have been recalled from retailers so the airport scene can be removed.

"Reports that Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 has been banned in Russia are erroneous. Activision only released a PC version of the game in Russia which went on sale on Tuesday, 10th November," the company said.

The scene in question, titled 'No Russian', depicts Russian ultranationalist terrorists massacring civilians in an airport with the player's help.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now