Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

EA struggles to secure Unravel trademark

By Rachel Weber

EA struggles to secure Unravel trademark

Fri 22 Jan 2016 6:48pm GMT / 1:48pm EST / 10:48am PST

Board game Beary's Unravel Game causing issues


EA's trademark application for its new title Unravel has been denied over similarities to a children's board game, but the publisher has said that it will not affect the game's name or release.

"The trademark application does not impact the game title of Unravel, and we're looking forward to the game launching on February 9," EA told GameWatcher.

Neogaf users spotted that the United States Patent and Trademark Office had refused the application on the basis for Unravel as the name "so resembles a registered mark that it is likely a potential consumer would be confused, mistaken, or deceived as to the source of the goods and/or services of the applicant and registrant." The registered mark referred to is Beary's Unravel Game, a board game created by Simply Fun.

The USPTO sent EA an abandonment notice was on January 19, 2016.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now