Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Judge rules Total Recall Technologies can sue Oculus founder

By Rachel Weber

Judge rules Total Recall Technologies can sue Oculus founder

Wed 20 Jan 2016 1:00am GMT / 8:00pm EST / 5:00pm PST
LegalVirtual Reality

Palmer Luckey faces breach of contract claim

Virtual reality spokesman and Oculus Rift creator Palmer Luckey is facing a lawsuit after a judge ruled that a breach of contract claim by Total Recall Technologies could go ahead.

Total Recall Technologies employed Luckey in 2011 to create a head-mounted display and it claims he then used knowledge and feedback from that project when building the Oculus Rift, despite signing a confidentiality agreement.

Reuters reported on the ruling, and added that U.S. District Judge William Alsup in San Francisco had dismissed parts of Total Recall Technologies' claim, including fraud.

Luckey called the suit "a brazen attempt to secure for itself a stake in Oculus VR's recent multi-billion dollar acquisition by Facebook."

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now