Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Marc Laidlaw retires from Valve

By Brendan Sinclair

Marc Laidlaw retires from Valve

Fri 08 Jan 2016 4:57pm GMT / 11:57am EST / 8:57am PST

Half-Life writer confirms departure from studio after nearly 20 years

If the Half-Life franchise is ever going to continue, it looks like it will have to do so without one of its primary creators. Marc Laidlaw today confirmed for that he recently retired from Valve Software, which he first joined in 1997.

The news of Laidlaw's departure first appeared on Reddit, where a poster shared the writer's reply to an email asking why he doesn't just confirm the long-awaited Half-Life 3 will never materialize.

"I am no longer a full- or part-time Valve employee, no longer involved in day-to-day decision or operations, no longer a spokesman for the company, no longer privy to most types of confidential information, no longer working on Valve games in any capacity," Laidlaw told the poster.

As for what he will do next, Laidlaw said he will continue to write stories of his own. While he wouldn't rule out working on games again at some point in the future, he said it's not part of the plan for now.

Laidlaw was the sole writer on Half-Life and Half-Life 2, and lead writer on the Half-Life Episodes.

If you have jobs news to share or a new hire you want to shout about, please contact us on

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now