Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Riot closes League Of Legends chat rooms

Riot closes League Of Legends chat rooms

Wed 02 Jul 2014 7:25am GMT / 3:25am EDT / 12:25am PDT
Publishing

"Chat rooms have grown rife with RP sellers, scammers and Elo-boost spam"

Riot Games has made the decision to temporarily disable its public chat rooms, citing accessibility flaws and negative experiences for League Of Legends players.

"As an immediate action we're going to disable the public chat rooms until they're useful and accessible. In their current shape they just don't work and can actively create negative experiences for many players (especially new players)," said Riot is a statement.

"The official public chat rooms have grown rife with RP sellers, scammers and Elo-boost spam. The default four rooms we established can be used by a tiny fraction of our players at a time. Given the number of League players, most conversation spills into private, community-created rooms."

The private chat rooms will stay in place but Riot is looking at ways to combat "unwelcome drop-ins and toxic behaviour."

League Of Legends is, of course, home to a massive and very active community, on they've asked for feedback on the issue.

1 Comment

Adam Jordan
Community Management/Moderation

112 63 0.6
Didn't think it would be long for this to happen. It's the reason I stayed away from them.

Will be interesting to see what they come up with as a solution

Posted:26 days ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now